5 Books I Thought I’d Dislike … but I Didn’t🥰

Hello and welcome to my blog!

I can never really put my finger on why I go into a book thinking I’ll dislike it🙃

It can be for a number of reasons – from it’s genre, the author hasn’t worked for me before, the subject or a trope that I just really don’t like. It can be anything and I can’t help it, on these occasions, going into a book with negative expectations😬

But, that negativity is worth it in a way when the book turns around and actually makes you like it!🥰 It makes you love books & reading more because it can still surprise you. It makes you think maybe I could read more books like this or I can’t wait to see what this author writes next.

And these 5 books really turned around and said you’re going to love me:


The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

I read Daisy Jones & The Six by TJK before this one and I didn’t fall head over heels like everyone else did – so as this one was her more popular one, I was wondering whether I would even like this one either. There was just something about this book that pulled me in, perhaps it was Evelyn Hugo and her complexity, her love for Celia and Harry and her daughter. The back and forth in time, with Evelyn telling her life story to Monique and then us living it with her was just alluring. Definitely one of my favourites😊

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland

This author was completely new to me and this book was also listed under the horror genre – I didn’t know if I was going to like this because there was the potential that I wouldn’t like the horror elements (as I’m a scaredy cat) but woah this book was terrific! What really surprised me the most was the fact that I loved the horror in this book. There was body horror and descriptions of gore and murder and I loved it! What a twist.

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

I was hesitant to read this because it was set just after WWII, was very much about the war and the occupation of Guernsey. I don’t like reading historical fiction centred around the world wars or any war, really. I like to read about wars and battles in fantasy, so I was going into this book without any hope that I would like it. But I ended up loving it. While it focused a lot on the war and how it effected people, it was mostly about the love and friendship that transpires between this small group of people who sort to escape from reality to talk about books. Juliet joins this society in hopes of writing about them but she discovers a home instead. It was quite an emotional read but I just really enjoyed it.

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

I didn’t read this when it was a popular YA series, I read it when it was classed as ‘old’ YA, so I was wondering whether I would even like it. I’ve read YA dystopia written at the same time such as Divergent and The Selection so I was expecting something along the same lines, but Shatter Me just really gripped me. Tahereh Mafi’s writing felt unique and fresh, introducing Juliette and this world effected so much by climate change. The worldbuilding was done gradually and it had me wondering about how this world came to be. I really loved it and I continued to love the entire series.

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


Loveless by Alice Oseman

I had quite a rough time liking Alice Oseman’s books before reading Loveless. While I loved her Heartstopper graphic novels, her books didn’t give me the same feels. I read Radio Silence and Solitaire and I just absolutely hated them. So, when Loveless was announced, I wondered whether to give Oseman another try. The main reason being that MC, Georgia, was asexual. I know Oseman wrote about sexuality well. This was also set at university and I’d just finished university by this point. And I ended loving this book wholeheartedly. It was spectacular and it made me feel better about myself, as I was also questioning. It is a fabulous book and I hope Oseman writes more soon.

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


I’m planning for this to be a mini duo so this is part one and part two, 5 Books I Thought I’d Love … but I Didn’t will be coming soon!✨

I really enjoyed writing this and, to be honest, I’ve been enjoying writing for my blog a whole lot lately. I’ve just had a spark of motivation and loads of ideas!

💬what is a book that you thought you’d hate but actually ended up loving?

Thanks for reading and visiting my blog!

3 responses to “5 Books I Thought I’d Dislike … but I Didn’t🥰”

  1. Interesting that your gave these books a chance, even though you didn’t think you would enjoy them. I try to give books a chance as well. Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel like as a reader, you have to step out of your comfort zone to find other great books🥰thank you for much!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I totally agree, Brogan. That is one great thing about reading book blogs.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started