5 Things In Books I Don’t Like📚🙃

Hello and welcome to my blog!

As book lovers, we all have our individual preferences on what we want from a book (and what we don’t)📚It can be a genre or a topic. It could be a writing style or a preferred perspective. It can also be really specific things like a trope or a certain type of character.

Even though we all love books, we love books differently. We are individual readers with likes and dislikes. And I think that’s what makes reading and books so amazing.

One reader is never the same as another🤍

I’m going to share with you 5 things in books that I don’t like, and in a future post, I’m going to discuss the things that I like.

A little disclaimer – if the following things I mention are your favourite, that doesn’t mean in any way that they’re bad or that you should like them any less. It’s just personal preference☺️


I don’t exactly know why I don’t like circus settings or a circus atmosphere in a book, but I think they’re incredibly boring. I recently read A Curious Beginning by Deanna Raybourn and there were a few chapters where the MCs were at a circus and while the characters’ banter & chemistry made it bearable, I really wanted it to end and for the characters to move on.

Examples of when a circus setting affected my liking of a book(s):


This is a very popular trope that I just don’t vibe with. 2021 & 2022 seem to be the years when every hyped romance book had some variation of this trope in it. I don’t like the lying that the characters do to their friends and families or the awkward and weird situations the trope puts them in – like acting all lovey-dovey when neither feels comfortable and being forced to display affection for each other. I just don’t like it. And if an entire book revolves around that, it really makes it hard for me to love the book.

Examples of when the faking dating trope affected my liking of a book(s):

Rated this 3 stars!

The classic YA trope used back in the day that we all loved – now, if there is a love triangle in a book, I’m out of there! The only love triangle that I still love with all my heart is the one in The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare. To this day, I still cannot pick a favourite between Will & Tessa and Jem & Tessa. Proves just how well the romance was written. However, the love triangle trope is hardly one I look for in books now.

Examples of when a love triangle affected my liking of a book(s):


Ugh, this trope really pushes my buttons! It’s been used so many times and I just hate it! It ruins the entire romance for me. I don’t read contemporary romances with this trope in, but in historical romance books, I keep finding myself happening upon this trope. Like I get it – ‘reputation’ was a big thing to preserve back in the ye old days, but it annoys me so much!

Examples of when a rushed marriage affected my liking of a book(s):

Rated it 3 stars!

I hate terms of endearment in romance books! If it’s not a cute nickname or said sarcastically, then I don’t like it. Words such as ‘baby’, ‘babe‘, and ‘my girl’ are a big no for me. It’s even worst when they’re said during steamy scenes or romantic and intimate scenes – it really makes me cringe and inevitable makes me skim read.

Examples of when terms of endearment affected my liking of a book(s):

Rated this 3 stars!

It’s been a little while since I last posted – I’ve been just so tired after work that I’ve not felt up to writing. Though, I do want to make a little effort over the weekend to draft some posts for the next few weeks!

I really liked writing this post despite it being about negative stuff and I’ll be posting 5 Things I Love In Books as soon as I can (fingers crossed this month🤞🏼)

💬What are some of the things you dislike in books?

Follow me over on my Instagram for more bookish content!

Thank you for reading and visiting my blog!

One response to “5 Things In Books I Don’t Like📚🙃”

  1. […] out 5 Things In Books I Don’t Like that I posted back in […]

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started